Secretary Clinton Announces Winners of 2010 International Women of Courage Awards

Posted by DipNote Bloggers
March 1, 2010
Women Hold Hands at Rally in India

Secretary Clinton today announced the 10 winners of this year's International Women of Courage (IWOC) award. On March 10, Secretary Clinton will present the awards to the honorees at the Department of State.

The awardees are: Shukria Asil (Afghanistan), Col. Shafiqa Quraishi (Afghanistan), Androula Henriques (Cyprus), Sonia Pierre (Dominican Republic), Shadi Sadr (Iran), Ann Njogu (Kenya), Dr. Lee Ae-ran (Republic of Korea), Jansila Majeed (Sri Lanka), Sister Marie Claude Naddaf (Syria), and Jestina Mukoko (Zimbabwe).

The annual International Women of Courage Award was started in March 2007 to recognize women around the globe who have shown exceptional courage and leadership in advocating for women's rights and advancement. This is the only award within the Department of State that pays tribute to outstanding women leaders worldwide. It recognizes the courage and leadership shown as they struggle for social justice and human rights.

“These ten women have overcome personal adversity, threats, arrest, and assault to dedicate themselves to activism for human rights,” said Melanne Verveer, the State Department's first ever Ambassador-at-Large for Global Women's Issues. “From striving to give more voice to politically underrepresented women in Afghanistan to documenting human rights abuses in Zimbabwe, these heroic individuals have made it their life's work to increase freedom and equality in the world.”

Biographies of the awardees are available on the Office of Global Women's Issues website.

Award recipients will be in Washington and available for interviews from March 7-12. Media contact for scheduling is Ruth Bennett, 202-647-7282 or 202-279-0380 (cell).



District Of Columbia, USA
March 2, 2010

Fauziah in Washington, D.C. writes:

Congratulations to all the recipients. A job well done! Continue with the good works


Latest Stories